Push the Envelope

“I am always doing that which I cannot do, in order that I may learn how to do it.” – Pablo Picasso.

How do we “push the envelope”?  According to prominent dietitian and social worker, Molly Kellogg, RD, LCSW, pushing the envelope means attempting to extend the current limits of performance.  One must innovate, or go beyond commonly accepted boundaries.  She goes on to say that the concept was first used in mathematics, then aeronautics where it refers to finding limits of safety with respect to speed and altitude.  In order to find those limits, test pilots gradually expand the parameters and observe results.

.

At NextJump, we apply this same principle in order to achieve results and shift into new territory.  We are constantly pushed out of our “comfort zone,” which may feel awkward at times.  Feeling awkward is not, however, the way to decide whether or not to keep going.

So, how can you tell if your new strategy, code, diet, whatever, is a good idea/working?  Here’s what some NextJumpers had to say:

  • “For me, I can tell my strategy’s working because I’m all-around happier. It sounds weird, but I see an almost immediate uptick in my emotions and my energy level when I’m taking care of myself properly. Also, I feel like I start actually craving healthy food.” – Faith M.
  • “You look at quantitative leading metrics or qualitative user feedback.”  – Mike O.
  • “I know if my diet is working if my pants start to (almost) fall off.” – Anonymous NxJ’er
  • “I think you know intuitively right away (others respond positively, “get it”) and you hopefully can quickly see results.” – Greg K.
Leave a Reply

