Chili: Not for the Faint-hearted

Our old Next Jump pal, Kate Wyman, sent over “… an awesome chili recipe. It kept me full all day!”  I asked if I could share it with everyone here, and she was pleased to offer it up.  Keep me posted if you try her recipe– and I can add your comments here.  If you have your own recipe, send it!

Ingredients:

  • 1 – 1.5 lb lean ground beef/turkey
  • 1 can Newman’s own medium salsa
  • 1 large tomato (preferably heirloom)
  • 1 can sweet corn
  • 1 can red kidney beans
  • ½ -1 onion (to taste)
  • 1 packet chili seasoning
  • 1 cup water
  • Sugar (to taste)

Prep:

  • Cook meat in large pot until brown
  • Add salsa and water and let simmer a few minutes
  • Add tomato, sweet corn, beans, onion, and seasoning – stir
  • Add sugar (I used confectionery because it was all I had) to taste… I probably ended up putting in a half cup or so
  • Let simmer on low heat for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally
  • Serve with shredded cheddar cheese and corn bread!!!

Yum!

Leave a Reply

